【最后的12章之9】 教育的重要性

野田:

在我小学二年级的时候,我有一个同学叫罗焉,就是他的一句话,至今我还深深地记在脑海中。

年纪小小的他就跟我说:“要的话你学到最好,不然你就最坏!”

他这样说,是因为当时我和很多同学过不去,之间出现了很多误会。

那时不懂事的我误解了他的话的含义,一直误以为“要你就学到最好拿第一,不然你就做到最坏好了”。我错误的选择了后者,心想既然我不可能考到第一,那我就放弃了学习。这真的是最错、错、错的决定。

从二年级到19岁进监狱,我都不曾好好思考过如何生活、也不曾想过要如何学习。进来了这里让我想起罗焉的这一句话,我生起了勇猛的心,修学智慧,就是因为这样我才学习佛法!

我读到一个数据,不知道对不对,希望你可以帮我检查看看。

美国有一个报告指出,很多被判死刑的人教育程度都是非常的低,通常都是教育程度低的人,才有机会犯错和可能遇上死刑的裁决。

(注:伟光所指的报告是由美国科学家研究,研究报告指出,是否执行死刑的主要因素不在于种族或出身贫寒,而是教育程度,接受愈少的教育,遭到处决的机率愈高。)

我是一个没有受到正规教育的叛逆少年,我对于很多犯错的刑法都不是很了解。因为缺少教育知识,所以给人家欺骗,让我相信运送毒品不会导致死刑,结果愚蠢的我就这样一错再错!

虽然比起其他人我比较不幸,我是没有受过正规教育的人;不过我觉得现在开始仍不迟。

现在,我不愿再错过,我每天大量阅读各类书籍,学习新的知识,如英语,也不断的修心灵。

也许说不准哪天早晨我会被处决,但万一哪天我真的能活着走出监狱大门,那么充足的知识和正确的人生观将是我重生的条件,如我能说英语,那我就可以把宣扬毒品害处的讯息传得更多更远。

当然除了学校的教育以外,家庭教育也非常重要;孩子的未来是由家里人来塑造的,如果你以工作繁忙还是生活忙碌为借口的话,孩子有很大机会变坏;我是因为家人忙碌,没时间陪伴而变得越来越叛逆。

我还想分享另外一个生命的故事。

在古印度,一名死囚在临刑前突然被告知:如果他能端着满满一碗水绕着皇宫走上一圈而滴水不洒,国王就会赦免他。死囚答应了。

消息传出后,很多百姓都围着皇宫看热闹。皇宫周围是高低不平的石子路,还要走几十级上上下下的台阶。围观的人们在起哄:再走三步就要摔了! 拐过墙角就要洒水了!

但死囚却好像根本什么都没听到,他死死地盯着碗里的水,一步一步走了大半天才走回到出发点。一滴水都没有洒出来。

人群沸腾了,国王也非常高兴,他问死囚:“你怎么就能一滴水不洒呢?”

死囚回答说:“我端的哪里是水,这分明是我的命啊!”

我现在看待学习也如同这碗水,如果一个人放弃了学习,就等于是放弃了生命,生命就是一门教育,而教育就是一种生命;这两者息息相关,哪里可能没有牵挂呀。

伟光合十
13/6/2011

English translation:

The Ninth Letter : The Importance of Education

Yetian:

When I was in Primary 2, I had a classmate named Luo Yan. He once said something that is deeply embedded in my memory.

Young though he was he said to me, “If you want you should work to be the best, or you will be the worst!”

He said this because I was unable to get along with many classmates, and there were many misunderstandings.

At the time I was immature and misunderstood the meaning of his words, and thought he meant that “you should study to be #1, otherwise you might as well just be the worst”. I made the mistake of choosing the latter, thinking that since it was impossible for me to be #1 in class, I might as well give up on my studies. This decision was the biggest, biggest mistake.

From Primary 2 until I went into jail at 19 years old, I never properly thought about how to live my life, and never thought about whether I should study. After coming in here I thought about what Luo Yan said, my heart grew courageous, I grew wiser, and that was why I started studying Buddhist philosophy!

I have read some statistics, I don’t know if it is right or not. I hope that you can check on it for me.

An American report has pointed out that there are a large number of death row inmates who have very low levels of education. Usually it is those who are lowly-educated who make mistakes and possibly get sentenced to death.

(Note: The report pointed out by Vui Kong is one done by researchers in America. The report pointed out that the death penalty penalises people not by race or origins of birth, but by levels of education. Those with low levels of education are more likely to be sentenced to death.)

I was a rebellious youth who never had proper education, unfamiliar with the sentencing of different offences. Because I lacked education and knowledge, I was tricked by others into believing that smuggling drugs would not attract the death penalty, which is why I in all my ignorance made mistake upon mistake!

Although compared to others I might seem unprivileged because I never received proper education; but I think that it is not too late to start now.

Now, I don’t want to make any more mistakes. Every day I read a lot of books, learning new things like English, and I keep meditating.

Perhaps one morning I will be executed, but in case one day I am able to leave this prison alive, full knowledge and the correct outlook on life is what I hope to achieve. If I can speak English, then I can spread the word about the harm of being involved with drugs to even more people.

Of course, apart from education in school, guidance from the family is also very important. The future of a child is created by the people at home. If you are too busy at work or too caught up in your life, the chances of your child turning bad is high. For me, it was because my relatives were all busy and did not have time for me, so I became more and more rebellious.

There is another story about life that I would like to share.

In ancient India, a death row inmate was suddenly told before execution: if he could carry a full bowl of water and walk a circle around the palace without spilling a single drop, the King would pardon him. The inmate agreed.

After the news spread, many people gathered around the palace to watch. The road around the palace was bumpy and uneven, and he had to go up and down many steps. The people around shouted, “You’ll drop it in 3 steps! Turn the corner and the water will spill!”

But the inmate seemed not to hear them, he stared at the bowl of water and walked and walked for a long time before returning to his original spot. He had not spilled a single drop.

The crowd was excited, and the king was also very happy. He asked the inmate, “How did you manage not to spill a single drop?”

The inmate answered, “I was not carrying water, this is my life!”

Now, I see my studies as a bowl of water. If a person gives up on learning, then it is like he has given up on life. Life is an education, and education is a sort of life; these two are closely intertwined, how can you not care?

Vui Kong
13/6/2011

About givelife2ndchance

Give Life 2nd Chance is a movement dedicated to work on abolish death penalty in Malaysia.
This entry was posted in The Last 12 Chapters, Vui Kong Letter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

