最后十二章: 第六章《友谊和希望》

野田:

今天我想和大家谈谈我的希望,和我身边亲如兄弟的一个好朋友。

其实“希望”这两个字在我刚进来的时候,曾经不停的浮现在我的脑海里,那个时候的希望包括,希望我可以见到家人、朋友、干爸爸和其他人,希望我可以离开这个监牢,希望我不用死,可是现在我的希望的清单上,已经改变了。

希望大家接触正确信仰

我最希望的,就是和大家说,有机会就要接触正确的信仰,接触后要懂得认识和加以学习;我是学习地藏法门的,因为从最基本之法学习,学到某个程度才增加更多的法门!

学安乐之法,学帮有缘人之法。

当然我希望可以正式的出家修行。

希望毒品交易可以消失

我最希望世界各地的毒品交易可以消失,因为毒品害人不浅;或许也有毒贩正在看我的信件,可能也因为这样而觉得我在破坏市场,但我想要说,即使现在你可以从毒品得到快乐,但是很快的你会因为毒品而失去理性,而伤心、悲痛、甚至因为毒品,和我走上同一条路。

毒品,是一种无常的象征;它象征着一个不长久的快乐。

毒品,是一个害人不浅的东西;它破坏生命、家人、社会、信仰等等。

希望我是最后一个死囚

我还是要说,虽然我是死囚,但是我希望社会可以以我为例,我想说死刑虽然是一项长久以来的法律,但是死刑不知是不是能够控制犯罪。

我的案件虽然不乐观,但是我希望我是法治国里最后一个死囚。

如果我有机会和大家有一面之缘,我愿可以给大家讲述佛法。

这是我的希望。

曾经有一个知己好友

野田,在前几封信我都没有提到我身边的一个朋友,请容许我在这里讲讲我好兄弟的事情。

他叫伟忠,我最后一次见面的时候是他的生日庆典上,没想到那时竟然是最后一次的见面;在我叛逆时期,他是我身边最亲的朋友。来到吉隆坡的时候,有人还因为我们的样子和体格相似,以为我们是亲兄弟——15年了,我们一起住过,一起认识新朋友,一起吃饭走街。

认识他是我莫大的荣幸,或许可以说是很多年修来的福气;就好像很多人那样有好兄弟,好朋友,我的好兄弟就是他。

不要踏上了一条后悔路

但很多人却不小心认识了坏的朋友,像我那样,认识了当时的“朋友”导致我现在的状况。

如果有妈妈或者爸爸在看这封信的话,请你必定要告诉你的孩子,“不要好像杨伟光那样,不要踏上了一条后悔路。”我们要有足够的智慧去分辨什么应该做,什么不应该做。以前的我是糊里糊涂,生活没有规律。现在我很清楚自己应该做什么。

其实我说过,你是我最陌生的朋友,很多人都是我陌生的朋友;我没有看过他们,也没有接触过他们,但是大家还是无怨无悔的帮助我,我都把大家当作兄弟姐妹看待了。

好了,今天就到此结束,我会很期待下个星期一,我想告诉社会更多我的故事。

伟光合十
23/5/2011

*******************

野田后记:

伟光与我的书信显示到伟光对案件的了解和他的冷静,身为他的笔友我感到愧疚。

生活在社会许久,却不比伟光监狱里的4年修行,他的冷静看待世间事,和成熟看待自己的案件,对于教育别人的执著 – 我承认自己是做不到的。

每次听到运良转诉伟光的言语,我都强忍着自己的心情;本来我想批判新加坡的狠心对待,但伟光却不停的督促我不要以恨处事——到底有谁能够好像他这样?

难道一条忏悔过的生命就要如此结束?被陷害运毒的人 = 死?

===============================

English translation:

The Sixth Letter : Friendship and Hope

Yetian,

Today I would like to talk to everyone about my hopes & wishes, and about a friend who is as close to me as my own brother.

Actually, when I first entered prison, “hope” was something that I thought of often. At that time my hopes included:

Hoping to be able to see my family, friends, godfather and others.

Hoping that I will be able to leave the prison.

Hoping that I don’t have to be able to die.

But now my wish-list has changed.

My greatest hope is to be able to tell everyone that if they have the chance, they should adopt the right faith, and to understand and learn: I am a student of the Dharma, learning from the basic philosophies up till a certain level before studying more!

To learn how to gain inner peace, and to learn to help my fellow man.

Of course, I hope that I can really be ordained as a monk.

I really hope that the drug trade can disappear from the world, because drugs harm many. Perhaps drug dealers are reading my letters, perhaps they think that I am trying to spoil their market, but what I want to say is, even if you can obtain happiness from drugs now, drugs will cause you to lose your senses, and because of drugs you will feel pain and unhappiness, and end up in the same situation as I am in.

Drugs are a type of ever-changing symbol: they symbolise a happiness that is short-lived.

Drugs are things that hurt people: it ruins lives, families, societies, faiths, etc.

I also want to say that although I am a death row inmate, I hope that society can use me as an example. I want to say that even though the death penalty is an old law, we don’t know if the death penalty can really control crimes?

If I have the chance to meet everyone even just once, I would like to tell everyone about Buddhist philosophy.

This is my hope.

Yetian, in the previous few letters I never mentioned my friend. Please let me tell you about my “brother” and his case.

His name is Wei Zhong. The last time we met it was his birthday celebration, and we never thought that it would have been our last meeting; In my rebellious period, he was my best friend.

When I arrived in Kuala Lumpur, people used to think that we were really brothers, because we look alike – for 15 years we lived together, made new friends, ate and wandering the streets together. (Note : VK stayed with Wei Zhong family when he left his mother to earn a living on his own at the age of 10).

Knowing him is my greatest honour, or perhaps one can say that it’s my good fortune earned through many years: just like many people have good friends and brothers, my “brother” is him.

But many people have mistakenly befriended the wrong sort of people, just like how I met the wrong “friends” at that time, leading me to my current situation.

If there are any mothers or fathers reading this letter, please tell your children, “Don’t be like Vui Kong, don’t follow a path that you will regret forever.” We need to have the right sense to differentiate between what we should and should not do. In the past I was confused, with no disciplines & directions in my life. Now I am very clear about what I should do.

Actually, as I’ve said before, you are both a stranger and a friend, like many others are strangers and friends to me: I have never seen them nor met them, but everyone is still willing to help me without regrets, and so I treat everyone as my brothers and sisters.

All right, today I will stop here. I am looking forward to next Monday. I want to tell more of my story.

Yours faithfully,
Vui Kong
23/5/2011

***********************

Note from Yetian:

Vui Kong and my letters have shown Vui Kong’s understanding of his case, as well as his calm. As his penpal, I feel  guilty.

I have lived so long, and yet I am unable to be as calm, enlightened and mature as Vui Kong, who has been meditating in prison for only 4 years.

Every time I listen to Yun Leong passing on messages from Vui Kong, I have to control my emotions: at first I wanted to condemn Singapore’s cruel treatment, but Vui Kong always tells me not to approach anything with hatred – how many people can be (so forgiveness) like him?

Should a repentant life just end like this? Being manipulated into smuggling drugs MUST die?

About givelife2ndchance

Give Life 2nd Chance is a movement dedicated to work on abolish death penalty in Malaysia.
This entry was posted in The Last 12 Chapters, Vui Kong Letter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

