最后十二章: 第五章《诚实·法律》

野田:

我在倒数与你的信件,这是第五封,我还有七封信件可以寄出,七个机会可以把我的心情谱成文字,谢谢大家可以在百忙之中帮助我和运良,让我把想法写出来,真的谢谢你们。

第五封信,我想要说很多。一个国家能够成为成功的国家,是因为有很好的领导者,有很好的法律,有很好的国民。

就好像我们的国家,因为我们有不错的领导者,也有法律,最重要的是我们有很好的国民,如果没有这些善良的国民,就没有人知道我了。

一个人做错了事情就该受到惩罚,我们必须遵守法律。我在新加坡犯错,所以他们要我受到法律的制裁,我觉得很应该,因为他们跟随一个好的国家的法律。

我曾经告诉过你我非常害怕吊死的那个时候,我听到法官讲我一定要受到吊死的惩罚,我非常害怕,更不知道应该怎么办!

当时,我的律师告诉我接下来就必须提出上诉。当时我已经学佛了,我知道佛教说不可以欺骗人。我真的以为上诉就是要我说骗话,要我在法庭上否认有罪。我不想这 么做,因为我知道我是做错事了,最后我选择了放弃上诉。如果我们欺骗别人,我们虽然可以逃离死劫,但是到我们去世时,我们会受到地狱之苦;这不是很痛苦 吗?

后来,我哥哥运良帮我请了新的律师(M Ravi),他说我的案件上诉很重要。我当时也不大了解,他解释了很多关于死刑和法律的东西,我就让他去做。

律师跟我解释说,我可以要求特赦,把死刑改去无期徒刑。这样我就可以在监狱里读佛书,也可以常常见到运良。但我听说,很多人因为这件事而吵架,我不希望这 样。我努力学习英文,读我的案件,因为我想知道新加坡的法律是个怎样的事情。后来我领悟到一点,就是“法律是人制造出来的,既然人制造法律,人也可以改变 法律,比如一些死刑的法律。”

我想,我必须要用一个死囚的心态去理解未来可能会成为死囚的犯罪者。我更想起了我的狱友被强行拖去执行死刑,我很痛心,因为他还来不及成熟。我在想,他是不是一定要死呢?

野田,你告诉我我们的内政部长和法律部长曾经在公开场合说会考虑“死刑”的事情,至今尊贵的他们也没有作出任何行动,可能他们正在忙着国务。但是我相信,他们身为高官是一定会履行他们的承诺的。

我写了很多信,可运良说他收到很少。 可能是很多信件都被截停在监狱,不能够送出,可能因为我的案件和很多法治国新加坡的死刑案,被国际关注,所以他们很小心我的信件;可是我很诚实的告诉大家,我的信件里都是我的心情,我希望我的家人,兄弟姐妹可以(继续)阅读我的信件。

在结束前,我奉劝各位如果有机会接触宗教,就要学习宗教,我读佛后我了解欺骗是一个非常严重的事情,所以我不欺骗和诚实告诉大家我的故事,我希望新加坡可以听到我的故事。即使我的案件不乐观,但是未来可能会有更多的案件发生,预防不是很重要吗?

刊登这封信刚好过了卫塞节吧?虽然已经过了,但是我希望可以祝福各位同体大仁卫塞节快乐,祝福大家佛光普照,身体健康,平安长乐!

野田,感恩你

伟光

诚心的合十

—————————–

野田后记

伟光的个案是一个非常重要的案例,共和联邦国家只剩下两个国家实行强制性死刑,这对马来西亚和新加坡有什么好处?这是我们应该深思的事情了。

如果死刑能够拯救人,预防更多的贩毒事件发生,那为什么当死刑仍在实行的同时,贩毒案的数目仍然飚高?这也是我们要想的。

很多事情我们都要往多方面想,不能只是一意孤行!

伟光也提到很多信件都被截停在监狱的事情,这几封信件,是通过运良到监狱探望伟光后的转述。

==================================

English Translation : The Fifth Letter – Honesty in Law

Yetian, I am counting down my letters with you. This is the fifth letter, so I can still send out seven letters. I have seven more chances to put my feelings into words, to thank everyone for taking time out of their busy lives to help me and Yun Leong, and for letting me write down my thoughts. Thank you all.

In this fifth letter, there is a lot that I want to say. A country becomes successful because of very good leaders, very good laws and very good citizens.

Just like our country, because we have decent leaders, and we have laws, the most important thing is that we have very good citizens. Without such kind-hearted citizens, no one would know about my case.

When a person makes a mistake he will have to be punished, and we need to follow the law. I made a mistake in Singapore, and so they want me to be punished by law. I feel that this is justified, as they are following the law of a good country.

I have told you before that I was very afraid of being executed. When I heard the judge say that I had to face death by hanging, I was very scared and didn’t know what to do!

At the time, my lawyer told me that I would have to make an appeal. I was already studying Buddhism then, and I knew that in Buddhism, lying to others was not allowed. I really believed that appealing meant that I will have to lie and deny my guilt in court. I didn’t want to do that because I know I have done wrong. Therefore, I finally decided to withdraw my appeal.

If we are untruthful to others, we might be able to escape death, but when we do die, we will be punished in Hell: isn’t that even more painful?

Later, my brother, Yun Leong, helped me to engage a new lawyer (M. Ravi). He said that it was very important to appeal my case. At the time I did not really understand what he meant, so he explained a lot about matters regarding the death penalty and the law to me, and I let him do as he saw fit.

My lawyer explained to me that I could ask for clemency, and commute my death sentence into life imprisonment. This way, I can stay inside the prison and study Buddhist scriptures, and also see Yun Leong & family regularly. However, I have heard that many people are quarreling over this matter. I do not wish for it to be like this.

I am working hard to learn English and to read my case, because I want to know more about the law in Singapore.

Afterwards, I finally understood one point – laws are made by human beings. Since we made the laws, we can also change them: including the laws regarding the death penalty.

Yetian, you told me that our Home Affairs Minister and de-factor Law Minister publicly agreed to consider abolish the death penalty, but they have yet to take any action. This might be because they are busy with other national affairs. However, I believe that as high-ranking officials they will definitely fulfill their promises.

I think I must use the mentality of the death row inmate to understand the potential death row inmate in the future. I am reminded of my fellow inmate, who was forcibly dragged out for execution, and I am pained, because he did not have enough time to mature. I wonder, did he really have to die?

I wrote many letters, but Yun Leong said that he has only received a few. Maybe many of the letters were stopped by the prison authorities and not allowed to be sent out. Maybe they are being very careful with my letters due to the international attention of my case and many other death penalty cases in lawful Singapore have received; but I can honestly tell everyone that my letters contain nothing but my feelings, and I hope that my family, brothers and sisters can continue reading my letters.

Before I end, I advise everyone who has the opportunity to come into contact with a religion, do study the religious faith seriously. After becoming a Buddhist, I understood that lying is a very serious matter, so I do not lie and I’m telling everyone my story honestly. I hope that Singapore can hear my story too.

Even if my case does not look optimistic, there may be many more cases in the future. Isn’t prevention very important?

This letter will be published just one day after Vesak Day, right? Even though it has passed, I hope to wish everyone a happy Vesak Day, and to wish everyone health, peace and happiness!

Yetian, I give thanks to you.

Yours sincerely,

Vui Kong

*************

Note from Yetian

Vui Kong’s case is a very important judicial case study. Only two countries in the Commonwealth carry out the mandatory death penalty; how does this benefit Malaysia and Singapore? This is something that we must consider very carefully.

If the death penalty can save people and prevent drug trafficking, then why is it that while we are executing people, the number of drug offences continue to rise? This is something we must think about as well.

There are many things which have to be considered in many aspects. We cannot stubbornly insist on doing things the same way!

Vui Kong has also mentioned that many of his letters were confiscated by the prison. Previous letters were written via Yun Leong through his visits in prison.

About givelife2ndchance

Give Life 2nd Chance is a movement dedicated to work on abolish death penalty in Malaysia.
This entry was posted in The Last 12 Chapters, Vui Kong Letter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

